Distraction

23 Sep

My little guy is in “a stage”.  He is clingy, whiny and very fussy.  I don’t know if it’s the burgeoning of teeth or the oncoming allergies.  Perhaps he simply doesn’t feel well.  I don’t understand his language so I’m kept guessing and wondering.

Yesterday, I couldn’t get the lunch dishes cleaned.  Never mind that I had let the clutter go once (or twice) due to his incessant crying.  The kitchen counter was littered and my patience was running thin.  What could I do to distract him long enough to complete a single chore?

Quickly, I grabbed a half cup of Cheerios, dumped them into a plastic cup, covered it with the lid and handed my son two straws.  I pushed the first straw into the hole in the lid.  Simple yet entertaining for a 14-month-old.  Phew!

He was amused for a while.  I sped like lightning to get the glasses, cups, plates, bowls, and silverware loaded into the dishwasher before he noticed that I wasn’t paying attention to him.

It’s funny – another mommy blogger recently added photos of her youngest inserting straws into a container lid.  Unfortunately, my cup only had one hole in the top! 

Then my son noticed the sounds coming from inside the cup and he gave up the straw game to search for the prize.

Cheerio targets captured and eaten.  Thankfully, my distraction worked for the few minutes I needed it to.  Next time, I want a lid with more holes!

Leave a Reply

