Review: Homeschool Tracker Basic Edition

22 Sep

I’ve been using the Homeschool Tracker Basic Edition tool for almost three weeks.  I love it! 

Before I downloaded the free version of Homeschool Tracker Basic, I’d print a blank schedule and hand-write each assignment.  Unfortunately, I began to drown in papers and preferred a software planner.

I use Homeschool Tracker Basic to record our weekly assignments, attendance, extra-curricular activities and field trip notes.

The main menu displays the school name and address, the student names, and days present or sick.  Homeschool Tracker Basic permits the user to record hours and grades, however, right now I only use the hourly feature for field trips, recess, reading and extra-curricular items.

There are eight additional tabs at the top of the planner window:

OVERVIEW– A snapshot of each student’s total days/hours per subject.

ASSIGNMENTS – I spend the majority of my planning time here.  I can browse by individual student or by the group.  I can also use the filter to view past due or future assignments.

Additionally:

  • The subjects can be customized.  While typing in the daily assignment, the user can specify the student, subject, resources and materials, time allotted, points to be earned and lesson information in the directions and notes fields. 
  • A copy feature enables the assignment to be scheduled for another student or used as a template for a future date.  This saves time and typing! 
  • Each assignment has a completion date and the ability to reschedule the task to a different date.
  • My first grader loves to read beginner chapter books to me, so I add a reading assignment for her and record the book title and author.  The assignment feature also gives the option to tag the book as borrowed material! 

ATTENDANCE – A monthly attendance calendar by student.  A single click allows the user to choose “present”, “sick” or “holiday”.

READING LOG – Track the student’s reading assignments.

FIELD TRIPS  – Add/Edit field includes the trip description, date, time spent, subject and a large note section.

DAILY JOURNAL – Automatically opens a new window for the current date.  Offers generous space for note-taking.

MAINTENANCE – Allows the administrator to change different tables such as: school info, activities, resource types, subjects, etc.

REPORTS – Choose a report type and date parameters.  I don’t know if I’ll use this feature during our school year or if I’ll wait to print specific reports to use as a permanent record at the conclusion of our learning levels.  Either way, I’ll share a sample report in a future posting.

Homeschool Tracker Basic Edition is easy to use, contains all the pertinent information in one tool and eliminates the need for a bulky binder and paper.  Best of all, Homeschool Tracker Basic is FREE!  I still spend approximately two hours each night prepping for the following school day (sigh) but Homeschool Tracker Basic certainly keeps my sanity in check.

Leave a Reply

