A Personal Observation

16 Sep

Must be my whining session for the week!  Seriously, I’ve discovered something on public forums – people are quick to judge and discredit.  Perhaps people always exhibited these traits and I didn’t pay attention until now.  I didn’t scrutinize others’ comments until the words were literally typed under my nose.

A knee-jerk emotional reaction used to be my trademark in discussions, debates or arguments.  I wonder, did I sound judgmental and ignorant?  How I wish I could retrieve some of those words.

It’s okay to have an opinion, but don’t make broad generalizations of others or scoff at a person’s comment without further research into the topic at hand.  When the ridicule or disdain is directed at me, I remember this:

Keep thy tongue from evil, and thy lips from speaking guile.  Psalm 34:13

and

Set a guard, O LORD, over my mouth; Keep watch over the door of my lips.  Psalm 141:3

Leave a Reply

