Nature and Science Journals

15 Sep

My girls are artists at heart.  If I can weave art into every subject, they’re thrilled!  Science and nature studies are perfect avenues for sketching, coloring and drawing.

I couldn’t decide if I wanted to make my own journals or take the easy road and purchase spiral notebooks at the store.  (Can you hear the pages being ripped out of the spiral notebooks?  That’s the end result of most of our spirals at home!) 

Last night I chose story paper and created three journals that flip open at the top.  I remembered that I had ring fasteners in my supply cabinet and thought, “Perfect!”  I can use the fasteners for the journals so we can add or take out pages at our leisure.

I used plain cardstock for the front and back covers and my newest software favorite, Microsoft Publisher, for a fun design. 

In hindsight, I should have laminated the covers, but I haven’t taught myself how to use the laminating machine yet!  If I can find smaller metal ring fasteners, I may create pocket-sized journals for scavenger and nature hunts.  It’s no wonder I have a hard time falling asleep at night – the curriculum possibilities are endless!

Leave a Reply

