A Gift That Always Gives

15 Sep

I’ve mentioned before that I didn’t read the Bible as a child, teenager or young adult.  Even though I attended mass every Sunday, I had little knowledge of His Word.  In fact, I didn’t actively pursue the Bible until a few short years ago.

Thanks to my neighbor – a pastor of a local non-denominational church – a spark has ignited in me for reading and understanding the Scriptures.  So often, I can turn to a book in the Bible and find relief from my own frustration or heartache.

I’m fortunate and richly blessed to be able to homeschool my children.  I can pass the importance of reading the Bible and humbling ourselves to the Lord onto them.  Nobody did that for me, but I won’t make that same mistake with my daughters and son! 

I’m privileged and honored to share devotionals with the kids each school day.  Many mornings, we sit on the rug and I’ll share pieces of my childhood and how God saved me and continues to inspire me.  No, not all of them comprehend what I say, but I pray the younger ones hear the love for our Lord in their mom’s voice.  And anything is possible with The Savior by our side!  The Bible is the gift that always gives.

 I can do all things through him who strengthens me. [Philippians 4:13]

Leave a Reply

