Adapting Curriculum

10 Sep

I admit, I used to roll my eyes when other homeschooling families declared that their children performed above a certain grade level.  In the back of my mind, I’d think “Is bragging necessary?” and “Sure, every parent believes her child is smart.” 

Yet I am quickly discovering that my middle daughter may be able to skip several lessons.  Her first grade curriculum assumes that she doesn’t print or blend letters well and doesn’t read beginning chapter books.  I had her spelling 3-to-4 letter words and reading books to me last winter through the end of July.

I feel as if we’ve taken a couple of leaps backwards.  The Bible reader is below her reading comprehension level.  It is too easy!  I don’t want my girls to speed through curriculum; I want them to be challenged in their daily assignments.

Thankfully, the public library is a short drive (in fact, on cooler days we can walk)!  I envision at least a weekly visit. 

I’m a bit anxious because the supplemental researching and reading has added to my already steep workload.  My oldest daughter is studying the middle ages and I wanted to use Pandia Press History Odyssey until I realized it was only a study guide.  The list of required books floored me!  I cannot afford to buy an additional half a dozen books plus the study guide!  I reverted to Mystery of History (MOH) Volume II – we studied the initial volume in our first year.  MOH is all-inclusive.  The author may recommend alternate resources or materials, but there’s no requirement to buy additional texts.  So, history remains on the back burner until MOH arrives in the mail.  For now, we’ll casually read and seek online materials to peak our curiosity.

My youngest daughter hasn’t gone unscathed either.  I think she’s bored!  Her boxed curriculum required a full 10 days for the Seven Days of Creation.  Well, we already learned Creation in our MOH Volume I lessons!  Eeek!

If you want to purchase a perfect curriculum, stop looking!  One doesn’t exist.  And if a child excels and loves a certain text, the sibling may hate it!  Repeat this mantra: Be flexible.  Trust yourself to adapt the curriculum.

Oh right, I also ordered a recommended book entitled, What Your Child Needs to Know When: According to the Bible, According to the State: with Evaluation Check Lists for Grades K-8 by Robin Sampson.  Perhaps I’ll be better prepared this time next year?  I can only pray!

[I wish Amazon awarded frequent buyer credits!]

Leave a Reply

