Easy, child-pleasing pizza using Bisquick

2 Sep

Last night, my middle daughter asked me, “What’s for dinner?”  When I answered, “Chicken”, I heard a soft moan.  “Can’t we have pizza?”  she whined.  I typed a quick search online and found a recipe on eHow.com for pizza crust using Bisquick.  Luckily, I had shredded cheese, pepperoni and a jar of pizza sauce! 

 

How to make super-easy bisquick-crust pizza!

By amb3rgrismarch, eHow Member
Ingredients:
  • 1 cup bisquick all-purpose baking mix
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 1 egg
  • 1 cup tomato sauce
  • 1 1/2 cups shredded mozzarella cheese
  • meat source! one chicken breast, or one cup of cooked ground beef, or sausage
  • (Optional) sliced green bell peppers,red bell peppers, tomatoes, onions, and garlic  [My kids don’t touch these foods with a ten foot pole!]

1. Preheat the oven to 450 degrees Fahrenheit.  Mix bisquick mix, milk, and egg in a bowl until pretty even, and spread on a circular pizza pan, or a rectangular cookie sheet (cover the pan with aluminum foil if it’s not non-stick!).  If the dough is too sticky, keep adding pinches of more flour mix. 

2. Spread uncooked tomato sauce evenly on top of the dough, and sprinkle the cheese on top.  Then chop your veggies and add them as well.  For meat, you can use packaged sausage, or pepperoni, or cook some ground meat, or chicken breast chopped into tiny bits.  Season the meat with some salt and italian seasoning if you have it, cook on med-high heat for about 20 mins. 

3. Throw the meat on, and put that pizza in the oven!  It should be done in about 10 minutes.  Take it out, have it cool a little bit, slice, and enjoy! 

My oven doesn’t brown evenly or reliably so I cooked the pizza at a lower 425 degrees and turned the cookie sheet around at the 8 minute mark. 

The chicken/pepperoni pizza was a hit!  All four children devoured their slices.  A small triumph for me.  Since I had leftover cooked chicken, and remembering that my girls could eat a Mexican meal every single day, I decided to make an Old El Paso-inspired pizza tonight. 

I decided to use a bit more Bisquick so the crust wouldn’t be as thin as yesterday.  My only complaint?   The crust is spongy; I prefer my pizza crust crispy! 

Again, I used a cookie sheet and poured the Bisquick batter onto it.   

A rubber spatula works great to even out the batter. 

I chopped two pre-cooked chicken breasts into tiny pieces and added half a packet of Old El Paso taco seasoning.  I poured about 1/4 cup of water to the chicken and tossed until the pieces were coated. 

I added some taco sauce to the top of the batter.  It spreads nicely.  My daughters told me that the pizza could’ve used more sauce.  Go figure! 

 

Next, I sprinkled Monterey Jack cheese as the initial layer, added the chicken and then sprinkled more cheese.  We love cheese, so I added a bit of shredded cheddar to the top too! 

 

I followed the recipe directions and cooked the pizza for exactly 10 minutes at 450 degrees.  I turned the pizza at the 7 minute mark.  And here it is: 

If I had been cooking for myself and my husband, sans kids, I would’ve used sour cream and perhaps even peppers.  But my girls are very picky so I couldn’t experiment tonight. 

ENJOY!

Leave a Reply

