Writing Curriculum

29 Aug

A brief history on me…As a child, I did not read a lot of classic literature.  The bad news?  I obviously missed out on some terrific reading!  The good news?  Since I homeschool, I can live vicariously through my children and read the classics (many for the first time) along with them!

Last winter, I bought my oldest daughter a notebook for journaling.  She didn’t seem very interested and I couldn’t understand why.  Until I read that many kids are not able to write original ideas in the early elementary years.  Then I discovered Susan Wise Bauer’s Writing With Ease curriculum.  Ms. Bauer offers many classic literature selections in the student workbooks.  The short classic excerpts such as Winnie-the-Pooh, The Frog Prince, The Adventures of Pinocchio, Pollyanna and Caddie Woodlawn whet our appetite to read the books. 

I started the Writing With Ease Level One workbook with my then third-grader because I didn’t know what to expect.  Each lesson week had four exercises:

  1. Day One – Copywork of a sentence related to the reading selection.
  2. Day Two – Narration followed by a brief question and answer exercise.
  3. Day Three – Copywork
  4. Day Four – Narration and Copywork

We quickly concluded that my daughter was too old for the Level One workbook, so I ordered her the Level Four.  Some of the reading selections in her level are Little Women, Black Beauty, The War of the Worlds, A Little Princess, The Velveteen Rabbit, and The Swiss Family Robinson.  Ms. Bauer also includes some selections from her history curriculum, The Story of the World.

While the Level Four workbook follows the same four-day lesson week, the daily exercises require the student to identify a focus point in the narration, write original sentences and complete dictation exercises.  The dictation exercises cover the correct usage of grammar.  Flipping to Week 21, I noticed a poetry exercise.  Once again, I’ll be learning as much as my daughter!  We’re both excited to begin Writing With Ease.

Leave a Reply

