My Purpose Realized

19 Aug

Late last night, I was watching old recorded episodes of The Glenn Beck Program.  I started listening to Glenn Beck’s morning radio broadcast almost two years ago.  Around the time our current president took the oath of office. 

I am grateful to Glenn Beck.  Why?  He helped me wake up and face the truth.  He explained the history taught to our children in the public school system has been erased and rewritten by the progressive movement.  He has collected the various pieces of the political puzzle [or in my opinion the tangled web of deception] and started to connect the dots.  He has presented the facts and allowed his viewers to make his or her own conclusion.  He has presented actual audio or video of our elected officials – no presumptions or edited material, but their own words.  And often their own words shocked and troubled me.

The arrogant and elitist behavior among our elected officials is mind-boggling.  Their need to control the “uncultivated masses” and to create hostile division within the United States is frightening.

On Glenn Beck’s August 16th airing, he spoke the words that have been circling inside my head for many months.  He put a voice to my fears.  He admitted that even if the Republicans win a majority in the House of Representatives, the “perfect storm” has already been set in motion.  We must stop putting our complete faith in the federal government.  The time is here to turn back to God.  The time has come to get down on our knees and pray to God to save us, to save our blessed nation.

How comforting and refreshing it is to hear a public figure on American television praising God and begging his viewers to return to Him!  Say what you will about Glenn Beck, but I believe him to be true, kind-hearted and trustworthy.  I believe him to be seriously concerned for our country and our children’s future.  I believe him to be like many of us – seeking the truth and trying to live obediently in a world that condemns Christianity.  I believe Glenn Beck has good intentions and I continue to support his endeavors – re-educating ourselves to understand our founders’ principles and values and rediscovering the truth in our United States history so we may learn from our past errors and begin to heal ourselves.

It is no mistake that my political reawakening also opened my eyes to my spiritual reawakening.  When I hear the degradation and corruption in our federal government, I am reminded daily that God is the authority,  not the politicians.

A combination of events drew me to my purpose.  Ultimately, I pulled my head out of the sand.  I became still and listened to the Lord.  I know what I believe in and I pledge to train my children according to His Word.  Yes, my true purpose has been realized.

So be truly glad!  There is wonderful joy ahead, even though it is necessary for you to endure many trials for a while.  These trials are only to test your faith, to show that it is strong and pure.  It is being tested as fire tests and purifies gold — and your faith is far more precious to God than mere gold.  So if your faith remains strong after being tried by fiery trials, it will bring you much praise and glory and honor on the day when Jesus Christ is revealed to the whole world.   1 Peter 6-7

Leave a Reply

