Archive | 9:13 pm

Forwarding on – The Homeschool Gadget Toolbar

17 Jul

Last night, I found an old blog page created by Angela Mills and she raved about the Homeschool Gadget Toolbar.  Just as she stated in her blog post, the installation was very easy.  I haven’t used any of the functions yet but the toolbar (added to my browser window) includes:

  • Blogs tab to link to other homeschool blogs
  • Community tab to keep in touch and to find encouragement
  • Top Sites tab that is chock full of resources
  • Free tab (awesome!)
  • Spiritual Growth tab
  • RSS feed tab
  • Radio function

Download by clicking HERE.

I can’t wait to browse these individual tabs, gather additional resources and join the community.  Hope to see you there!

P.S. On Ms. Mills blog, I read that her health is not good.  Please keep her in your thoughts and prayers.  I was deeply saddened when I read her last post.  I’ve never chatted with her.  I only wish that I had discovered her blog much earlier.  I continue to be awed and inspired by many homeschooling mothers’ willingness to share ideas, resources, advice and information.  I may never meet some of these mothers, but each has touched my heart.

July 16 Daily Devotional by Dr. Charles Stanley

17 Jul

From time to time, I’ll share a devotional by Dr. Charles Stanley.  Often, it seems as if he is speaking directly to me, offering me comfort and reiterating the need to intimately understand His word. 

July 16
Walking with Christ 

Romans 1:4-6

 The pathway of faith has divine purpose, and we’re to obey, no matter what.  But even when God’s direction is perplexing, we can count on the fact that He is good.

Walking obediently with Christ doesn’t guarantee an easy life, which is obvious when we consider the apostle Paul.  He encountered all kinds of hardships, including shipwreck, persecution, and beatings (2 Cor. 11:23-27).  Keep in mind, though, that nothing can touch a believer without God’s loving permission.  He uses difficulty to strengthen and correct believers—and eventually to achieve His ultimate plan.  Also remember that the Lord protects His followers in their suffering, just as He kept Paul safe in situations that seemed impossible.

Adversity can tempt us to ignore the Holy Spirit’s guidance.  But we will ultimately regret such a decision, as God doesn’t spare us from the consequences of our sin. However, He never lets go of His children, whom He will continue to protect and guide throughout life.

Walking in obedience and trust is the only avenue to true peace.  As Paul sat in an uncomfortable Roman prison where his life was in danger, he encouraged believers not to worry but to pray with gratitude.  Doing so leads to experiencing peace beyond what we can comprehend (Phil. 4:6).

The only wise way to live is to trust in almighty God and follow wherever He leads.  That is the road to contentment, fulfillment, protection, and peace.  Are you journeying on the pathway of faith?  Or is something holding you back from all God intended for your life?